On Chesil Beach – Ian McEwan

This is my second read of this novella.

The first time of reading was several years ago, pre-blog. On that occasion I thought the story of wedding night nerves in the fifties was well done, I appreciated the significance of a dark back story, and I was completely buying the disastrous results of a profound failure of communication.

My second read of On Chesil Beach followed closely on the heels of Umberto Eco, and the Eco Effect has yet to wear off. But I will endeavour to keep my Eco related revelations to a minimum.

‘They were young, educated, and both virgins on this, their wedding night, and they lived in a time when a conversation about sexual difficulties was plainly impossible.’

The first phrase is extraordinarily powerful, with the potential to lead the reader on an extensive ‘inferential wandering,’ à la Eco. The second phrase renders speculation unnecessary, and weakens the overall impact of the novella’s first sentence. The unfortunate effect of this very early observation is to highlight the same manner of flaw undermining McEwan’s theme throughout the novella.

McEwan’s concept of relationship breakdown resulting from a failure of communication is a compelling theme for investigation, one that might easily stand alone. The hints of a dark past playing a prominent part in the marital difficulties which ensue feels like an easy out, as if McEwan was personally unconvinced that the paralysing fear of a woefully ill-informed young woman on the event of her first sexual experience was justifiable. Had he attempted to make this case the resulting novella would have felt fresher and more significant.

Wearing my feminist hat and, conceivably, over-interpreting, the implication that the root cause of the problem is male and not internal is patronisingly offensive. Compare with Florence’s account of her marital handbook:

‘Other phrases insulted her intelligence, particularly those concerning entrances: Not long before he enters her… or, now at last he enters her, and, happily, soon after he has entered her… Was she obliged on the night to transform herself for Edward into a kind of portal or drawing room through which he might process? Almost as frequent was a word that suggested to her nothing but pain, flesh parted before a knife: penetration.’

Here McEwan is sympathetic to Florence’s instinctive rejection of submissive passivity but he himself has already portrayed her as a passive object. This would be acceptable if society were the culprit and his subject but, as I previously stated, McEwan never quite commits to this solution.

For the reader the difficulty is to commit to the characters. The narrow four-poster bed, with its virginal overtones: ‘pure white and stretched startling smooth, as though by no human hand.‘ The ‘sensuous‘ vegetation with ‘swollen stalks‘ and ‘dark, thick-veined leaves.’ There is a ‘nudge, nudge, wink, wink’ feel to these sexual allusions which is unpleasant and creates a pronounced distance between character and reader. This impression is amplified as McEwan uses flashbacks to heighten tension and postpone the climactic moment of truth. Never was literary foreplay so abused and so ill-judged! The protagonists suffer while the reader is encouraged to anticipate the reveal. It feels voyeuristic and manipulative.

On the other hand, the latter half of the novel, somewhat anti-climatic, is most apposite.

On the first time of reading I took the novel as a straight forward tragedy, but on this, the second appraisal, the tragedy scenario does not hold water. If the protagonists share a love of Romeo and Juliet proportions then irreconcilable differences indeed constitute a tragedy, but in the case of la grande passione are irreconcilable differences even credible? If there is no true passion then there is no true tragedy.

It doesn’t have to be tragedy, but what then is it? To some degree social observation, with psychological overtones. In my final analysis I concede that McEwan makes one strong committment, to the clinical and dispassionate dissection of his characters: strait-jacketing them, distancing the reader.

It is worth observing that there are other facets of the novel which are exceedingly effective. I am indebted to a friend for a fascinating explanation of the significance of Chesil Beach, the liminal space with the sea-graded shingle. Which I will not reproduce here, but it’s worth thinking about. Should you choose to catch this particular ball you can run with it to good effect.

Alas. For me it is not enough to counteract the intrusive presence of absolute omniscience, and a flawed central conceit.

9 thoughts on “On Chesil Beach – Ian McEwan

  1. Thank you so much for your comments. You echo my disquiet with the book http://silverseason.wordpress.com/2010/03/18/ian-mcewan-chesil-beach/, but say it better. The language and the characters worked for me. The situation and the social implications did not. Like you, I had feminist concerns for Florence. Sure, her understanding of herself was poor and her approach to sex is flawed. This is fatal in a novel for a female. Males, with poor self understanding and flawed approach to sex usually get a pass. She had as much right to be mistaken as he did.

  2. Voyeuristic and manipulative could stand as my review of McEwan’s Amsterdam. An excellent review, and it’s nice to see a rereading and critical reappraisal.

    For a realist novel I do find the premise a bit unlikely. Were people in 1962 really so ignorant? I’ve seen films and read books from that period and earlier and generally my impression is that sex wasn’t really invented in 1963.

  3. Nancy – Thank you for the link (and the compliment) As you say, we have some thoughts in common, although you also highlight some strengths that passed me by.

    Max – Thank you. I haven’t read Amsterdam. The OH accumulates McEwan and it is on the shelf, but he doesn’t recommend it any more than you do.

    Re-reading McEwan seems to create not deeper impressions but opposed impressions. The Cement Garden proved impossible to read a second time: the subject matter was so objectionable that I wonder at myself for having read it even the once. I liked Atonement and will perhaps avoid a re-read which may spoil that favourable recollection.

    I am in complete agreement with your final comments. Remarkably, there does seem to be a lengthy history of people figuring out the sex thing, one way or another.

  4. My McEwan binge-reading fest came to an end with this book. Six books on the trot, but I was disappointed with this book, and haven’t read anything by him in about two years.

    Brilliant appraisal of the book – think you’ve put in words what I could not…

    PS: I’ve read The Cement Garden only once, and was completely hooked, despite the objectionable content – or probably, because of it.

    • I read The Cement Garden straight after The Wasp Factory, both borrowed from the OH with whom, at that point, I was not well acquainted. But I didn’t hold his macabre reading tastes against him!

      The Cement Garden was compelling the first time, but when I picked it up recently a few pages were all I could stomach. Sensibilities can change, I guess.

  5. I liked this book but now I’m not sure what to think about it. I find your review spot on.

    Max, I think in some social circles women were kept ignorant. Especially if they went to girls-only or religious schools. (very common in France in that time for bourgeois girls)

    • Thanks Emma. I think it has good and bad qualities. Maybe it depends on how generous one is feeling!

      Flaubert depicts the consequences of a girl kept in such ignorance in A Woman’s Life and, although these consequences are horrific, instinct eventually asserts itself and ‘normality’ is achieved, if only temporarily. His premise is even more extreme but it is believable.

  6. I do not get what the fuss about McEwan is. Frankly, I think that most of his books are too long and would probably work best as short stories. Thanks for the review. I’ve been given Solar as a gift so I will try again.

    • McEwan does seem to divide opinion. I can’t say that I feel a strong urge to read any more. Unless I were to run out of reading inspiration, which is fairly unlikely to happen short of catastrophic internet failure. Heaven forbid!

      I hope you enjoy Solar. I will look out for your review.

Leave a comment