Chickamauga – Ambrose Bierce

In his eagerness to justify the inclusion of Chickamauga in his Fantastic Tales Calvino reveals the means by which the author achieves certain otherworldly effects. Calvino is careful to protect the concluding twist from premature eyes, but his comments otherwise constitute a shocking spoiler. (And if it was a novel would I have read the introduction first? Of course not! Making exceptions for Italo Calvino? Well. The lesson is learned.)

In my eagerness to avoid divulging too much here, enigmatic hints must serve. Hopefully, whetting the appetite. Realistically: prepare to be mildly annoyed.
Continue reading

The Very Image – Auguste Villiers de l’Isle-Adam

‘At that very moment I noticed, right beside me, the entrance of a square, solid-looking building.

It had reared up in the mist like a stone apparition, and, despite its rigid architecture, despite the dismal, eerie vapour in which it was enveloped, I recognised a certain cordial air of hospitality about it which reassured me.

“The people who live here,” I said to myself,”must surely be sedentary folk. This threshold has an inviting look: isn’t the door open?” ‘

This concise piece is almost completely lacking in story, and at first glance no more than an gothically atmospheric description of Paris. The paucity of plot carries its own allure in a story this short: the conclusion is reached while curiosity about the destination remains in the ascendancy. Unusual and effective structure, precise writing, startling imagery with a twist, this is a superb short story but I cannot tell more without telling the whole story. Well worth a read, and it will only take five minutes!