My Foot in Your Ass – Dr Seuss

drseussThis little known book has always fascinated.  As a variety of bizarre and absurd creatures are subjected to a butt-kicking, the nonsensically comic verse works on several levels, with surprising complexity and depth.  Indeed, the themes underlying Dr Seuss’ zany, engaging characters and inimitable style are uncharacteristically dark and disturbing. 

“Oh, the Places You’ll Go;” often cited as the last work; is, in reality, the forerunner of “My Foot.”  “Places” is an optimistic and enthusiastic life guide for young people, which contrasts strongly with the bleak outlook, and barely concealed anger, of “My Foot,” in which motivation does not exist beyond the placement of a well aimed kick.

In summary, this book constitutes a depressing evaluation of youthful apathy, resonating strongly with current attitudes towards young people.  However, it may be best to interpret the proposed solution in a wholly metaphorical sense!

7 thoughts on “My Foot in Your Ass – Dr Seuss

  1. I have to confess to being so gullible that I was about to do a google search – I was, at least doubtful that Dr Seuss could be this rude – until I noticed the date of your post. Doh!

  2. Thank you for pointing out the date, Moira. I realised, too late, that out of context I sound like a basket case!

Leave a comment